my green-venture week 2

IMG_9303.jpg

Hello..

How are you guys doing? I hope you are doing better than I am. This past week has been hectic. I’ve been very busy with my last semester of uni and all that needs to be done before graduation. I’m really stressed out, but I think that’s what everyone must have felt before finally getting a hold of that graduate degree.

Still, even though I’m real busy with work and all, I have not abandoned my zero-waste challenge. I’m becoming more and more conscious about any waste I’m producing and despite making small baby-step progress, I have to say I couldn’t be happier with my transition into the zero-waste lifestyle.

Not use any plastic (3.5/5)

I’m doing better and better in this part: still bringing along my own water bottle and tote bag wherever I go. Last weekend my parents and I went shopping at the Old Market in Chinatown. It was kind of a struggle because we were buying so many fresh produces including vegetables, fruits, mushroom roots and tofu. Some of the things we bought were already packaged in plastic and preserved in iced water buckets, which wasn’t convenient since our cloth bags got quite damp. But that didn’t stop us though; I still refused to take more plastic bag from the seller, who kept insisting on me double bagging.

IMG_9304.jpg

Note on plastic use

Like what I said in previous post, plastic use has been so incorporated into our daily lives. We buy a plastic water bottle. Use it once. Throw it away. Forget about that one bottle completely. Buy a new bottle. Repeat the process. The majority of us probably don’t realise that it takes around 450-1000 years for that plastic bottle to decompose. It has become such a habit for us to completely forget about that one plastic bottle we carelessly throw away.

I think one thing we can do as an individual is to become more mindful. Be mindful of your own use of plastic. Like for instance, asking for no lid when buying a take-away coffee at Starbucks. Something like that. I think everyday consciousness counts. Who knows, maybe if that many of us care enough to change on an individual level, we might be able to make an effective change on a larger scale.

IMG_9296.jpg

Food (4/5)

I’ve been doing pretty well so far with restricting food waste and eating a plant-based diet. I still find it hard to finish all my food when I eat out with friends and families. Sometimes we order food to share and the food that’s left may be way too much for my tummy to handle. So I still can’t completely say that I finished all my food. But hey, whenever I eat my own meals, I always try to finish it, so that must count as something right?

IMG_9305.jpg

(vegetarian brunch with family at Rocket S.49, Bangkok, Thailand).

As for reducing meat consumption, I’ve also decided that from now on I’ll be joining the meatless Monday movement (in addition to Saturday). Hopefully I will be able to gradually cut out more eggs and dairy (I still can’t deny my love of cheese, chocolate and creamy Greek yogurt). I’m not too worried about it though; I don’t want to be too hard on myself because I want to make this transition a long-lasting one. So let’s make eliminating dairy my next goal to tackle.

Start Composting (1/5)

I’m sad to say that I have yet to start composting at home. I’m pretty nervous, probably because of the lack of knowledge. But I’m one step closer to starting. The other day I bought this DIY composting book. I hope to read more about it and start in the upcoming week. So fingers crossed!

IMG_9311.jpg 

Learn how to make my own product (4/5)

I couldn’t be happier with how I’m going in this area. This past week I tried making my own cashew nut milk and kaffir lime shampoo. The cashew milk tasted really creamy and rich, I also sweetened it with a bit of honey and vanilla to add some extra flavor.

IMG_9302.jpg

Soak 1 cups of cashew overnight. The next day strain and rinse the soaked cashew, before putting it in a blender with 3-4 cups of filtered water. Pour the cashew milk through a fine strainer. Add 1 tablespoon honey and ½ teaspoon vanilla extract. Chill and enjoy.

 IMG_9301.jpg

This cashew milk is great on its own but I personally like to add it to smoothies or coffee to make a cashew milk latte.

As for the shampoo, I made it with only one ingredient, kaffir lime.

IMG_9299.jpg

Bake 1 kg of kaffir limes in a 180 degree preheated oven for 1 hour before extracting and straining its juice.

IMG_9297.jpg

Both of these recipes are really easy and only took me around half and hour to make. Ever since I started to make my own products, I’m eager to continue learning and making more. Hopefully next week I’ll get around to making my own body butter and deodorant.

Note on make-up

The other day I was reading an article about all the chemicals in make-up, I might sound paranoid, but since reading and knowing these stuff, I no longer feel like daily applying these toxic substances on my face..

And since I can’t be bothered to make my own foundation, concealer, eyeliner, eye shadow and mascara, I’ve decided to cut back and avoid using them. This would definitely spare me some extra cash for other things..

Anyway, so now the only make-up I use are loose-powder, blush, eyebrows pencil and lipstick, all of which I’m trying to find a natural organic brand for. Do you guys happen to know any?

Reduce overconsumption (1/5)

This past week I ended up buying a coffee mug, water bottle and a jumpsuit, all of which, in the spur of the moment, I made up a decent excuse to buy. But I guess the first two will help me in reducing my future waste. So that’s not too bad right? 3 items bought in a week,  it could have been worse. I think at least I deserve a point..

As I’m writing this I just realise that next week is the third week of my challenge.  At this point, I think it’s time I set a new goal for next week, one that involves getting my hands dirty and turning waste into worth. As much as I’m eager to start, home composting still is a very foreign domain to me.I guess it’s because I don’t know how hard it’s going to be, what challenges might arise, and how badly it’s going to smell ! But I guess if I don’t start  now then I’ll never know. So I have to get around to it and start. It should be an interesting challenge. I’ll let you guys know how my attempt goes in my next post. I’m really curious about how it’s going to turn out..

Until next time,

Mai

PS. If any of you happens to be an expert home composter, I would be super grateful if you could share with me some your useful tips and tricks..

 

Leave a Reply

