The Organic Way

IMG_8505.jpg

(All photos taken at Na Aroon Organic Thai Restaurant)

This space has been left emptied for far too long so I thought it’s about time I brush off the dust and start filling them. A lot has happened since my last blog post. I finally graduated from UQ and have moved back home to Bangkok. Looking back I definitely miss my experience in Australia. I’ve met so many incredible and passionate individuals many of whom have taught and inspired me on so many levels. It’s only when I’m home in my natural comfort zone that I started to realize that one and a half year in Australia has completely changed my mindset towards, life, people and most importantly myself.

One of the biggest values that have been stuck with me since living in Australia is the idea of eating organic. Sure I’ve always been interested in the idea of eating healthy, filling my diet with fruits, vegetables and a good balance of all the macronutrients (fats, carbohydrates, proteins). I know that good food can be used to nourish my physical body. But the idea of eating organic has always screamed expensive and unaffordable to a poor uni girl like myself.

IMG_8506.jpg

So why do I want to go organic?

Most nutritional advice usually tells us to eat a certain amount of carbs, fats and proteins with additional vitamin supplement per day. Some even strictly focuses on the amount of caloric intake. Still the aim of strategically following these advices is for us to nourish our body with sufficient nutrients with the aim of being healthy, losing excess weight and overcoming illnesses.

IMG_8504.jpg

Yeah yeah, but why organic though?

Let me give you an example, using broccoli. I think most of us include broccoli in our diet because we know it’s good for us. Broccoli is deemed to have high vitamin A, C , B6 and potassium (according to google) as well as high fiber content. We eat it because it’s nutritious (except those rare few who are gifted with an exceptional taste bud to actually like the taste of broccoli).

IMG_8502.jpg

So many of us would load our supermarket carts with broccoli, kale and a range of other veggies thinking that we are doing our body a favor without really stopping for a second to think about where those veggies comes from, the farm it was produced at or how it was grown. I mean who have time to think about those stuff right? You just want to eat your broccoli and get the nutritional benefits that were promised from the experts and all the scientific research out there.

Still, what if I tell you that the broccoli you are eating are grown using chemical fertilizer and sprayed with pesticides.

IMG_8528.jpg

You probably knew that too since that has been the conventional method of farming for quite sometime.

But what if I tell you that these chemicals have been linked with the development of cancer, asthmas, hormones disruption, memory loss and a range of other health deterioration. Does that lower your appetite?

IMG_8524.jpg

I think it’s such a shame, if you have positive intention to eat certain foods to be healthy but the way that food was chemically grown is actually bringing harm to your health . I think if people are really conscious about their health then apart from caring about calorie intake and nutritional content, they should also be curious about how their food is grown and how it’s prepared. Research shows that even washing vegetable or fruits does not completely eliminate the pesticide and chemical residues (reference below). So I think the next time you are strolling along the vegetable aisle in the market, keep a look out for those veggies that are certified organic so you can fully gain the maximum monetary value of your broccoli.

Still, I know going completely organic is hard. It’s definitely not easy for me since I’m still studying in uni and not making much of an income. But I think if you can’t really afford to go all organic, I personally would suggest at least consider going organic with certain raw greens or fruits in order to fully maximize the nutrients you get from eating them. This is because, depending on the region, some fruits and vegetables are more heavily sprayed with chemicals than others. So my advice to you is do your research, be conscious of what you choose to eat because in the end of the day it’s really true what they say “you are really what you eat.”

IMG_8527.jpg

Some inspirational sources for this article (and that inspired me to try to go organic) are:

  • Omnivore’s dilemma – Michael Pollan
  • Food for Change (กินเปลี่ยนโลก) Foundation
  • Organic Farming – Sho Oga (Owner of Harmony Life Farm and Sustaina Restaurant)
  • Youth Food Movement Australia
  • http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/summary.php

Check them out!

PS. All photos are taken at a Na Aroon Thai restaurant in Bangkok. The restaurant in vegetarian and seafood menu using organic local ingredients without MSG, preservatives or food colouring.

PSS. I’m not claiming to be the expert on the topic so if you guy have any suggestion or comments about the topic please let me know, I would love to know and learn more about the organic movement as well 🙂

xx

Mai

 

2 comments
  1. David said:

    This is really inspiring to read makes me think what I’ve been eating all these times. Keep up the good work

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks David! Really glad you enjoy reading this. I will definitely try to find more interesting content to post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

