1 OF Å KIND Nordic Vintage Furniture Café

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetAs much as I am an explorer when it comes to trying new cuisine, I’m not so much so when it comes to trying new restaurants. Whenever I’m in charge of choosing a place to dine, I would initially aim to try a new place, a place that I’ve always wanted to try. But almost always, after a while I would later on change my mind and go to the restaurants I’ve been to in the past and one that I know for sure would consistently give great service and serve me delicious food. To put in simply, I like to play it safe.

thumb_IMG_0522_1024However, once in a while I would get out of my comfort zone. I would venture into an uncharted territory, try out the latest eatery in town, cross my fingers and hope for the best. Last Tuesday was one of those hopeful occurrences. One of my best childhood friends, Prae, just got back to Bangkok after her graduation trip in UK. So we decided to meet up for lunch. I suggested we went to 1 OF Å KIND Nordic Vintage Furniture & Café, which is a furniture warehouse/ restaurant with a very back to 1960’s retro décor. I’ve been seeing a lot of instagram posts from this place and since it’s super close to where I live, I have always wanted to give this place a visit. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

We arrived at the restaurant around 11am-ish just abit after their opening hour. The place was empty. We walked through the massive wooden sliding door out-front, which opens into a high-ceiling glass space filled with colorful tables and chairs. The entire place was seriously clustered with all kinds of objects, from antique furniture to plastic toys.Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetOnce seated, we ordered ourselves some cold drinks. I ordered Ordinary ( a blend of lemon and apple). We then hungrily glanced through the laminated menu. I wanted something light so I went with the salmon steak that was embedded on a mix of colorful vegetables and mash potato. The salmon was served with spinach and some beetroot-y pink sauce, which was quite nice actually with a strong garlic-y taste that went very well with the salmon. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetMy friend, Prae, chose the Salmon Spaghetti Cream Sauce. She said the sauce was rich and delicious but she just wished that the portion was bigger and there was more of the salmon. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetAs for a little something to snack on, we also got the calamari to share. The calamari came with a flavor enhancing wasabi mayo dipping sauce. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetAfter our stomachs were happy and full, Prae and I strolled around the furniture warehouse. I was definitely charmed by the vintage tidbits lurking in different corners of the place, like this strikingly realistic Yoda’s toy model that I came across, Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset or this wall of photographs faded to the shade of burnt sienna Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetThe warehouse was like a treasure chest filled with all sorts of object, each holding its own personal story through the little cracks and scratches. I think it would be so much fun,if I have my own place, to rummage through all the treasures finding unique decorating pieces.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Overall, even though personally I wasn’t wowed by the food , I think I’ll definitely be back here. I would come back just for the ambience, the fantasy vibe that radiates the whole place. I’m  thinking it would be quite experience to have my head buried deep in a fictional book over a cup of coffee while surrounding myself in this whimsical environment of old toys and vinyl collections.

xx

Mai

1 OF Å KIND Nordic Vintage Furniture & Café
4 Rama9soi48, Bangkok, Thailand 10240

Leave a Reply

