Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Pictures taken with iPhone 6

There’s something about the process of baking that entices me. One thing is that baking naturally forces me to live in the moment. I need to be aware of what I’m doing, following the recipe step by step in order to know what to do next. I also like how baking is an experiment and a transformative process. Like how the unique scent of sugar, egg and butter gradually reform to create an infusion of scents once creamed together. Or how the white sugar grain reacts with hot water and when heated to the right temperature, develops into a golden syrupy caramel. It’s really interesting, kind of like high school chemistry lab (not that I was very good at that). Only now it’s more fun since I’m allowed to both taste and experiment.

thumb_IMG_9618_1024 It has been a while since I last baked something. The last thing I baked was a batch of paleo brownies and it was during the last half of the semester when assignments and deadlines came crashing like a monstrous waves of tsunami. Back then; baking was my brief getaway from reading and memorizing lecture notes. I would, in the slowest motion and greatest precision, sift flour and whisk together the dry and wet ingredient in reluctance to go back to studying. thumb_IMG_9619_1024 thumb_IMG_9620_1024 Now with uni out of the way I have more time on my hands but still didn’t get to bake as often as I like. I reckon it’s because ever since I got back to Thailand I’ve been going out to eat a lot and haven’t spend all that much time at home. So that’s probably why I didn’t really get around to baking until now. thumb_IMG_9617_1024 I got the recipe for this pineapple upside down cake while flipping through Flour cook book by Joanne Chang. I bought the book a year ago based on the reviews online about how great it is, and so far it hasn’t yet disappoint. I’ve had quite several successes baking from the book. So far I’ve made a few batches of good banana bread, a dozen sticky buns, plus a few smiles and extra kilos along the way. This book has earned a permanent place in my heart and baking pantry. thumb_IMG_9616_1024 So while baking this pineapple cake, I followed the recipe diligently knowing that Joanne would eventually guide me to a delicious and successful outcome. First she said to caramelize the pineapple such that the tangy and citrusy juice of the fruit was soaked in gooey caramel syrup to give it a balance taste of sweet and sour. Next up was making the cake batter, which was really a breeze. Two bowls were needed, one for wet and another for dry ingredients. Joanne said to combine the two mixtures and voilà you have a creamy and velvety cake batter, which you then pour into your 9 inch cake pan and bake for 50-60 minutes. thumb_IMG_9622_1024 Then she said to hold your horses, well not exactly but she said to wait for 30 minutes for the cake to cool down before cutting them into generous slices and enjoy them with a cup of hot tea. thumb_IMG_9614_1024 thumb_IMG_9660_1024 Easy right? Now what are you guys waiting for, let’s get in the kitchen and start baking ❤ You can find the recipe for Joanne Chang’s Pineapple Upside Down Cake here

xx

Mai

Leave a Reply

