Sunday Outing at Spring Epicurean Market

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset I always wonder what it’s like to have a career as a traveller that allows one to hop on a plane and fly around the world as easy and frequent as taking a bus. To casually cross countries like moving across buildings. I wonder how those people feel to have their realities shift ever so often. Do people get use to it eventually? I’ve lived in Bangkok for almost the entire 21 years of my life but I still felt slightly dazed and jet lagged returning here after being away for a year. Maybe it was the sudden change in climate, from Brisbane’s cool winter breeze to Bangkok’s blazing summer sun or the three hours delay in time zone? I don’t really know. Still, this slight daze and jet lag doesn’t stop me from waking up at 6am and hitting the Spring Epicurean Farmers Market at 8am the very next day. Such was my love for good food and markets 😀

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset I was so excited when I first realized I would be returning to Bangkok just in time to hit up Spring Epicurean 2nd Birthday (Spring Epicurean Market is a local farmer’s market held every last Sunday of the month at the front yard of Spring and Summer Restaurant in Sukhumvit 49). My intent was to savor the ciabatta bread baked by Conkey’s bakery and the buttery croissant by Amatissimo Café plus try out any other yummy looking munchies at the market. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Most of the stalls were the same as when I last came a year ago with some newbies like this healthy bakery Theera and freshly baked breakfast cereal from Neighbor’s Granola. I bought a small bottle of the granola to try and planned to have it with frozen berries, Greek yogurt and a little bit of honey for breakfast. Yums! Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset The market still retained its fun and familial vibes. Kids were running around, under the peripheral supervision of parents who were also catching up with friends over coffee and breakfast. Little pups were seen with their adorable big eyes, timid and under control of their owners. Seeing this made me so happy. What a good way to spend my first Sunday home with the family! My parents and I just roamed around buying all sorts of good stuffs before retreating back indoor for the aircon and some coffee. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Once inside, we slowly unboxed and devoured all the foods that we bought.. Starting with this meatball sandwich on freshly baked ciabatta bread by Conkey’s Bakery.. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Next up was this delicious choux pastry with lemon curd.. Then I thought about eating this peach Danish but restrained myself and decided to keep it for tomorrow’s breakfast… Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Seriously, there were so many delicious foods at the market that I feel obliged to buy so many to try! But I’m proud to say that I exercised my sense of control and instead of finishing them all in one go, I kept some croissants and cakes to enjoy over the course of next week. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Two hours flew by so fast as I was eating and catching up with my parents. I felt like there was so much to tell that I couldn’t stop talking! I guess that’s the thing about being with family, they made you feel so at ease and comfortable to talk just about anything! I had so much fun at the end of the two hours that I completely forgotten about how little sleep I had last night. It seemed to me that the daze and jet lag were miraculously cured by the antidote of good food and company. Now I’m hyped and ready for my one month holiday in BEE-KAY-KAY! Again, thanks so much for reading peeps!

xx

Mai

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

